Get Going

I have always wanted to make a difference in the lives of others through teaching.  I’ve always wanted to be able to do something else aside from teaching as a means of living.

As far back as 20 years ago, I tried to offer to teach accounting for free to an orphanage but nothing came out of it.  A few years ago, I inquired about how I could teach reading to indigent kids.  Somebody from the government replied that I had to tie this up with a nutrition program which neither I nor the provincial government had extra money to do.

Why I failed to intensely pursue my dream or lost interest in working on it would be a rather long and complicated story. But this year, I hope to seriously put all my efforts to jumpstarting my dream.

Here are a few things that I must do, according to Zen Habits:

  1. Focus on the right goal.  If we have the wrong goal, we’ll never have the burning desire to achieve it.  Makes sense.
  2. Know that you can do it. I like the quotation in this post:  There is only one thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve: the fear of failure. – David Deida
  3. Keep notes of success by others. This is how and where we draw inspiration and motivation.  If they can do it, we can, too!
  4. Find friends who have the same goals or mission. It’s important to have the right people to work with.  Like-minded friends can share the tasks and give each other encouragement.
  5. Make use of your reticular activating system (RAS). This is new to me so I still have to research on this.  Basically, it’s a system that allows us to “home in” on our goals and stay focused on them.
Leave a Reply

