We’re Starting

Talked with BM today.  BM is one of Gawad Kalinga‘s coordinators.  I took up two points with him:

  1. One of my classmates in HS, JV, who works for GK-Austria suggested that, for our high school class’ 40th year jubilee (in 2013), we should adopt a GK village in Calatrava, Negros Occidental since the mayor of that town, AB Jr., is our HS classmate.  BM was happy to hear this because he was trying to work on how he could get the GK project working in Calatrava.
  2. For my other group – RN, MB and me (Teaching For Tomorrow or T4T), the tentative proposal was this: We tutor accountancy students. To avail of this tutoring service for free, they will have to earn “volunteer units”, meaning they will have to serve a certain number of hours as volunteers in GK.  BM was delighted when he heard this because he said they have this adult literacy program in Banago, Bacolod City for those who want to earn a high school diploma (they take a series of exams given by the DECS) but they lack tutor-volunteers.  If T4T coordinates with GK, we can supply the tutors for these adults.

I am excited.  Finally, I have a “road map” and I can visualize my way to realizing my dream. 🙂

Leave a Reply

